9 June 2014


Developing football in the region by promoting an active interchange within Central Asia, strengthening unity and solidarity among its members, and making contributions to peace through football.


Central Asian Football Championship organises a wide-range of competitions every year, and the inaugural competition was held in 2013. The goal of CAFA is to develop and strengthen the game of football by raising its standard in the region to the world’s top level and by playing a leading role in Asia.


President: Rustam Emomali (Tajikistan)

Senior Vice-President: Dastanbek Konokbaev (Kyrgyz Republic)

Vice-President: Arslan Aynazarov (Turkmenistan)

Member: Ravshan Irmatov (Uzbekistan)

Member: Mehdi Taj (I.R. Iran)

Member: Fazil Muhammad Shahab (Afghanistan)

CAFA Structure

CAFA History

Members of the six nations met with AFC president Sheikh Salman on 10 May 2014 to talk about the possibility of creating a new Asian football zone. The delegations were invited by the AFC president following an initiative by Iran and Afghanistan.

At the extraordinary AFC congress on 9 June 2014 in São Paulo, the plan of the new zone was ratified by the congress.

The Central Asian Football Association (CAFA)is an association of the football playing nations in Central Asia.

In June 2014, the association was in principle approved by the Asian Football Confederation and approved at the Extraordinary Congress in January 2015 during the 2015 AFC Asian Cup. As a result, CAFA will in the future be able to have member(s) on the AFC executive committee.

In 2015 Central Asian Football Federation has changed his name to Central Asian Football Association.

The first elected President – Mirabror Usmanov (Uzbekistan) 2014-2017

General Secretary – Sardor Rakhmatullaev 2015 (Uzbekistan)

Second elected President – Umid Akhmadjonov (Uzbekistan) 2018 – 2019

General Secretary – Sandjar Rizaev (Uzbekistan) – 2018 – 2019

Current President – Rustam Emomali (Tajikistan) – 2019

General Secretary – Ulugbek Karimov (Tajikistan) – 2019

CAFA will consist of six member associations. All of them are members of the Asian Football Confederation.

Afghanistan, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

CAFA runs several competitions which cover men’s, women’s, youth and futsal.


Message from the CAFA President

Dear Members of the CAFA,

For the purpose of promoting football and friendship in the region, the Central Asian Football Association (CAFA) was established immediately after the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Football is the only organised medium that unifies the Central Asian region where political and historical issues are evident, and the role played by the CAFA is not to be taken lightly.

New powers such as the Afghanistan, Tajikistan, and Kyrgyzstan are emerging in Asian football, and we see signs of a shift in the power map. Improving the national level of football will raise the overall quality of Asian football, and only then can Asia compete equally at the world’s top class level. With many countries that have competed in the FIFA World Cup, Central Asia have to be driving force of football in the Asian region. It is important to continue working hard together in friendly rivalry to further reinforce the level of Asian football.

More than half of the world’s population live in Asia. It should be noted that many companies based in Asia support the AFC and FIFA and their competitions. The growth of Central Asia increases the value of Asia in the global football market, and it is therefore imperative that we put our efforts into developing the marketing power of CentralAsian football.

Asia is emerging as a strong force in both men’s and women’s football. The solidarity of the Central Asian football members is more important than ever. Let us reconfirm our strong bond based on friendship and cooperation through mutual understanding and close communication.
As the new president of the CAFA, and I will live up to my responsibility with honour and pride. I look forward to working with you all.

Rustam Emomali

President, Central Asian Football Association