Asian hopefuls to identify opponents in official draw


22 teams from across Asia will participate in the AFC U-20 Futsal Championship 2019 Qualifiers, and are set to identify their opponents in the official draw ceremony at the AFC House, Kuala Lumpur at 3pm on Thursday.

The Qualifiers will be divided by Zones — East, West, ASEAN and Central.

Summary of Slot Allocations:

Finals Host — 1 (Automatic qualification)

East Zone — 2

ASEAN Zone — 3

Central Zone — 3

West Zone — 3

The ASEAN and Central Zones have a total of five participating teams each, hence a draw will not be required. They will play in a league format, in total 10 matches with two matches per day to be played over five matchdays, wherein the top three teams will qualify for the AFC U20 Futsal Championship 2019 Finals.


As for the East and West Zones, the Qualifiers will consist of two groups of three teams and they will also play in a league format, totalling six matches with two matches per day to be played over three matchdays.

With only two slots allocated to the East Zone, the top team from each group will qualify to the Finals, while the West Zone, which has three slots, will subsequently have a play-off match between the second-placed teams from the two groups to determine the third-ranked team. The top team from each group and the winner of the play-off match will qualify for the Finals.

The selected Hosting Association for the AFC U-20 Futsal Championship 2019 Finals will be given an automatic slot. However, if the selected Hosting Association decides to participate in the Qualifiers and in the event they occupy the top two or three positions in the zone (depending on the slot allocations for each zones), the next best team in the same zone will obtain the opportunity to qualify into the final round competition.

In the event the numbers of allocated slots are equal to the number of entries, all teams in the particular zone will gain automatic entry into the Finals.