Irmatov in charge of Spain-Morocco encounter


Ravshan Irmatov was tasked with the refereeing responsibility for the crucial 2018 FIFA World Cup Group B tie between Spain and Morocco at the Kaliningrad Stadium in Moscow on Monday.

It was Uzbek Irmatov’s second match at Russia 2018, having officiated the Group D tie between Argentina and Croatia on June 21.

The five-time AFC Referee of the Year is appearing in his third FIFA World Cup and was assisted by compatriots Abdukhamidullo Rasulov and Jakongir Saidov for the Spain-Morocco tie, which ended 2-2.

Asia’s Mohammed Mohammed Abdulla, who refereed the Group C tie between France and Peru on June 21, was the fourth official and Mohamed Alhammadi the fifth official. Both are from the United Arab Emirates.

Bahrain’s Nawaf Abdulla Shukralla was tasked with refereeing the Group H tie between Poland and Senegal on June 19 while Alireza Faghani of the Islamic Republic of Iran handled the Group F tie between Germany and Mexico on June 17.

Besides on field duties, numerous Asians have been involved as fourth, fifth officials and VAR referees at the FIFA World Cup.

Asian Match Officials

Fourth Officials:

Nawaf Shukralla (BHR): Serbia v Switzerland

Ryuji Sato (JPN): Portugal v Spain; Belgium v Panama; Germany v Sweden

Mohammed Mohammed Abdulla (UAE): Germany v Mexico; Spain v Morocco

Abdulrahman Al Jassim (QAT): Poland v Senegal; Japan v Senegal

Fifth Officials:

Yaser Tulefat (BHR): Serbia v Switzerland

Toru Sagara (JPN): Portugal v Spain; Belgium v Panama; Germany v Sweden

Hiroshi Yamauchi (JPN): Tunisia v England; Nigeria v Iceland; Saudi Arabia v Egypt

Mohamed Alhammadi (UAE): Germany v Mexico; Poland v Senegal; Spain v Morocco

Hasan Almahri (UAE): Uruguay v Russia

Taleb Al Marri (QAT): Japan v Senegal

Assistant VAR:

Abdulrahman Al Jassim (QAT): Sweden v Korea; France v Peru

Offside VAR:

Taleb Al Marri (QAT): Sweden v Korea; France v Peru