Qualifiers Round 2 draw concluded


12 teams discovered their opponents for the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament 2020 Asian Qualifiers Round 2 following the official draw ceremony at AFC House on Wednesday.

Round Two sees 12 teams divided into three groups of four, with the respective group winners advancing to the final round of qualifiers.

In Group A, 2016 SAFF champions India will have hosts Myanmar for company as well as first-time participants, Indonesia, who finished ninth at the 2018 Asian Games in Palembang, and Nepal.

Jordan, who will be looking to build on their impressive form after clinching their fourth WAFF Women’s Championship title early this year, are pitted against Vietnam, Hong Kong and reigning Central Asia champions Uzbekistan in Group B.

Meanwhile, in Group C, Chinese Taipei, Islamic Republic of Iran and Palestine will join the Philippines who are making a return to the competition following their success at the 2018 Women’s Asian Cup.

In the final round, the successful sides will join Australia, DPR Korea, Korea Republic, China PR and Thailand in two groups of four, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the play-offs.

The two winners from the play-offs will then qualify for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics with hosts and reigning Asian champions Japan.

The Round 2 Qualifiers will be played April 1-9, 2019.

Click on the link below to revisit the Official Draw ceremony.