Shaikh Salman unanimously re-elected AFC President

The 29th Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Congress, held in the Malaysian capital on Saturday, has re-elected Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa by acclamation for a second four-year term until 2023.

Shaikh Salman, whose Presidency began in May 2013, was the only candidate for the position.

There were initially three candidates confirmed by the AFC Electoral Committee following the completion of the eligibility checks on March 1, 2019.

The number was reduced following the withdrawals of HE Mohamed Khalfan Matar Saeed Al Romaithi (UAE) and Mr. Saoud A. Aziz M A Al-Mohannadi (Qatar) – both of whom threw their full support behind Shaikh Salman.